94 Foods You Wouldn’t Expect To Contain Gluten

Welcome to The Big List of Foods That You Wouldn’t Expect To Contain Gluten. This list will always be expanding and upgrading, so if you have a suggestion for a food just comment and it will be added shortly. Click on the hot links to buy the gluten-free version or recipe listed.

Amaranth- Amaranth usually does not contain gluten but has a small chance of cross-contamination. Here you can buy specifically made gluten-free Amaranth Flour.

Asparagus- Asparagus is naturally gluten-free but sometimes seasoned or topped with a substance that contains gluten.

Bagels- Bagels are made with wheat causing a high gluten content. Here you can buy gluten-free bagels ODoughs Original Gluten-Free Bagel.

Baked Goods- Most baked goods are made with wheat or flour as a key ingredient so it does contain gluten. Here you can buy gluten-free recipes Gluten-Free Dessert Recipes.

Barley- Barley contains gluten anyway it was grown or prepared.

Beer- Beer is made with barely so it has a high amount of gluten. There are gluten-free substitutes for beer, like Angry Orchard which is a hard cider. Remember you must be 21 years or older.

crispbtllg--en--7946d08c-6363-42b5-9d9a-9ea807831811.png

Biscuits- A common ingredient in biscuits is flour, so they are not gluten-free. However here you can buy gluten-free biscuits Gluten-Free Oat Biscuits.

Breading- Breading is commonly made with wheat, so it is not gluten-free. A good substitute to bread crumbs is gluten-free Oats, Flax, or these Gluten-Free Bread Crumbs.

Bread- Bread is made with wheat and flour so it is high in gluten. Here is where you can buy gluten-free bread Whole Grain Style and White Style.

Brewer’s Yeast- Brewer’s Yeast which is a byproduct of beer is not considered gluten-free in any way.

Brownies- The main ingredient in most brownies is flour, making it very high in gluten. Here you can buy gluten-free Brownie Mix.

Brown Rice- Brown Rice is naturally gluten-free, but it might contain gluten because of the way it was made. Make sure to ask your server, or read the ingredients list.

Brown Rice Syrup- Brown Rice Syrup usually does not contain gluten but possibly made with malt syrup or starch which then adds gluten.

Buckwheat- Buckwheat is in no way related to regular wheat so it is gluten-free, but there is a chance for cross-contamination. Here you can buy gluten-free Buckwheat Flour.

Butter- Plain butter is gluten-free, but some kinds of butter do contain gluten because of the added ingredients. Several brands like Land of Lakes, Smart Balance, and Earth Balance are all gluten-free.

Cakes- A large ingredient in most cakes is flour so it is not gluten-free. Cakes can be made gluten-free by following a gluten-free cake recipe like Let Us All Eat Cake.

Caramel- Caramel flavor is derived from wheat so it is not gluten-free. Here you can buy gluten-free Caramel.

Carrots- Carrots are naturally gluten-free, but the way they are made might add gluten. Make sure you ask the server and check the label.

Cereal- Many cereal grains are not gluten-free. It is best to always check the label for wheat or cereal grains. Most Chex cereal is gluten-free, and here are some gluten-free super cereals, Blueberry Cashew,  Cacao Coconut, and Sweet Buckwheat.

Cheese- Most cheese is gluten-free, but Blue cheese and Brie are both aged in areas that could cause cross-contamination. Always ask the server or check the label.

Chocolate- Chocolate alone is gluten-free, but there is always a chance for cross-contamination, especially when nuts or pretzels are added. Here you can buy gluten-free chocolate with no chance of cross-contamination Hempmilk Chocolate Bar.

Chow Mein- Chow mein is not gluten-free because of it is a wheat noodle, so it is actually very high in gluten. A great substitute is chow fun, the other type of Chinese noodle because it is a rice noodle, not a wheat noodle.

Cookies- The first thing you add to cookies is flour, so it is not gluten-free, but there are many great gluten-free cookie recipes and mixes. Here are gluten-free premade cookies Double Chocolate Cookies and here are gluten-free cookie recipes.

Corn- Corn naturally does not contain gluten, but there are certain ways it can be made which will add gluten. Always ask the server and check ingredients lists.

Cornbread- A large ingredient in corn is corn flour, and regular flour, so it is not gluten-free.

Corn Flakes- Corn Flakes are sometimes gluten-free and sometimes very high in gluten depending on which brand you buy. A safe option to go with is General Mills Corn Chex.

general-mills-corn-chex-cereal_orig.jpg

Couscous- All brands that make couscous use high amounts of wheat, so it is not gluten-free.

Crackers- Crackers are not gluten-free, but there are many alternatives with gluten-free crackers. Here are just a few  Zesty Tomato Flax Gluten-Free Crackers, Rosemary & Onion Gluten-Free Crackers.

Cream- Most dairy products are gluten-free. Unflavored, heavy cream is gluten-free, but added flavors might also add gluten. Check the labels and be aware while at restaurants.

Crepes- Crepes are not gluten-free because of the high amounts of flour. Here is gluten-free pancake mix which can also make be used to make crepes Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes Mix.

Croissants- The main ingredient in croissants is flour, so stay away from the at restaurants.

Croutons- Croutons are not gluten-free because they are made primarily with flour. Here you can buy gluten-free croutons Garlic Gluten-Free Croutons.

Dextrin- Dextrin is usually gluten-free, but sometimes it is made with wheat flour causing it to be high in gluten. Check the label to see for sure.

Dextrose- Dextrose is sometimes made from wheat, but it is usually concentrated enough to make it gluten-free. Most times you are okay but always check the label.

Donuts- Donuts are not gluten-free. A very large ingredient is wheat so sadly you can not enjoy donuts. Sometimes in stores, there are gluten-free variants that you can eat but remember to be careful of cross-contamination. Here you can buy gluten-free Glazed Donuts.

Dressing- Most times dressing is gluten-free, but in some cases, especially with house made dressings in restaurants there is a large possibility of cross-contamination. Ask your server and check the label. Here you can buy gluten-free Chipotle Ranch Dressing and Ginger Miso Dressing.

Dumplings- Dumplings are extremely high in gluten, their whole outer shell is a very floury dough, so they are not gluten-free. There are many great gluten-free options, here are just a few; Chicken Gluten-Free Dumplings, Pork Gluten-Free Dumplings, and Vegetable Gluten-Free Dumplings.

Durum- Durum being a different strain of wheat, but closely related, is also high in gluten. There are many substitutes for wheat, one being this Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

Egg Noodles- Egg noodles are made with high amounts of wheat so, unfortunately, they are not gluten-free. There are limited choices to buy gluten-free egg noodles, but you can always make them at home.

Eggs From Restaurants- Eggs from restaurants is a tough one. There is a large possibility of cross-contamination in most restaurants so you must always check with your server who will then ask the chef if there is a designated egg area. If there is you should be good.

Energy Bars- Energy bars are mostly 50/50. It all depends on the bar you eat. Bars that are high in protein are usually more prone to gluten, or cross-contamination because of the additives. Also about cross-contamination, energy bars with oats usually do contain gluten because of cross-contamination. Always read the ingredients list and check for wheat.

Farro- Farro is a mix of different types of ancient wheat, so it is definitely not gluten-free. A great substitute is this Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

Flatbreads- Normal flatbreads, and especially flatbreads from restaurants are very high in gluten. There are many great flatbreads, here are just a few; Gluten-free Italian Flat Bread Mix, Gluten-Free Flatbread Pita, and Multigrain Gluten-Free Flatbread.

Flour- Flour is mainly wheat so it is not gluten-free. There are many great substitutes for flour but here are just a few; Sprouted Millet Flour, Sprouted Sorghum Flour, Sprouted Brown Rice Flour, and the regular Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

No-Flour-Power-620x412.png

Flour Tortillas- The main ingredient in flour tortillas is flour, so naturally they are not gluten-free. A lot of times corn tortillas are used in the place of flour tortillas to make the meal gluten-free, so here are some Gluten-Free Corn Tortillas.

French Fries- French fries are usually gluten-free, but they are also usually cross-contaminated. At a restaurant ask if they are gluten-free or not, and at the store read the ingredients list.

French Toast-French toast is most times sadly not gluten-free. There are great gluten-free french toast recipes and this gluten-free French Toast Mix.

Gnocchi-The main ingredient in gnocchi is potatoes, but flour is often used as a binder so gnocchi is not gluten-free. Here you can buy Cappello’s Gluten-free Gnocchi.

Goldfish-Goldfish is not gluten-free. Flour is commonly used as an ingredient so it is very high in gluten.

Graham Crackers-Most graham crackers contain refined wheat making them not gluten-free. Here are some great Gluten-Free Graham Crackers.

Granola- Granola alone is gluten-free in most cases, but most times is cross-contaminated with gluten. Here you can buy Gluten-free Granola.

Granola Bars-Although granola alone might be gluten-free granola bars are usually mixed with oats which will make them have an almost 100% chance of cross-contamination. Stay away from granola bars that are not sold gluten-free.

Imitation Bacon-Imitation bacon is not gluten-free because they are usually paired with flour or other forms of gluten. IT is good to stay away from imitation bacon unless bought from a specific gluten-free supplier like this one.

Imitation Seafood-Imitation seafood, a lot like imitation bacon, is not gluten-free because they are usually paired with flour or other forms of gluten. Again, stay away from imitation seafood unless bought from a specific gluten-free supplier like this one.

Khorasan Wheat-Khorasan wheat is not gluten-free. Actually, it is one of the furthest things from it. Stay away from this type of wheat, and basically every other food where “wheat” is in the name. Like mentioned above, there are many great substitutes for wheat like Sprouted Millet Flour, Sprouted Sorghum Flour, Sprouted Brown Rice Flour, and the regular Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

Lipstick/Lipgloss/Lipbalm- Lipstick/Lipgloss/Lip Balm usually contains gluten because of some of the chemicals that are used in them. Since this can be accidentally ingested they made the list.

IMG_2927-892x594.jpg
Great gluten-free lipstick

Malt- In most cases, malt is made from barley so it is not gluten-free. It can be made from corn, but this happens very rarely. Stay away from malts, unless they are specifically gluten-free.

Malted Barley Flour- Malted barley flour is always made from barley, and flour. This means it is definitely not gluten-free. Stay away from anything that has malted barley flour in it, and always read the labels on foods that could contain this.

Malted Milk- Malted milk is made primarily with barley so it is not gluten-free. Here you can malted milk powder.

Malt Extract/Flavoring/Syrup/Vinegar- Each of these products are made with barley which does mean that these all contain gluten.

Marinades- Depending on what ingredients the marinade contains will decide if the food is gluten-free. Check the labels on the ingredients or ask the server if you are at a restaurant. Great substitutes for common non-gluten-free marinades are Appalachian Naturals Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette, Mr. Spice Honey Barbeque Sauce BBQ, and Mr. Spice Sweet & Sour Gluten-Free Sauce.

Milkshakes- The basic ingredients of milkshakes, like milk and ice, are gluten-free, but if it is a malted milkshake or a milkshake that had ingredient other than just milk or ice cream most likely it is not gluten-free. Always check the ingredient list and ask the server.

Muffins- Muffins are usually made with flour so they are not gluten-free. There are many great gluten-free muffins like  Gluten-Free Lemon Streusel Muffins and 1-2-3 Gluten-Free Muffin Mix.

Mung Bean Noodles- Mung bean noodles are made with rice so they are gluten-free. Always wake sure to watch out for cross-contamination.

Mustard- Mustard varies on whether or not it is gluten-free. Some mustard can be gluten-free, it can also have a high chance of cross-contamination, and it could also be made primarily from wheat.

Noodles- The majority of noodles are not gluten-free. Most are made with wheat or ingredients like wheat. There are many great gluten-free noodles like Gluten-Free Fettuccine, Gluten-Free Pasta Shells, and Gluten-Free Le Veneziane.

Pancakes- Pancakes are not made gluten-free because of the wheat used in the batter. You can always buy great gluten-free pancake mix like Authentic Foods Gluten-Free Pancake  Mix.

Parsnips- Parsnips are gluten-free, but are not always prepared in a way that keeps them gluten-free. Make sure to ask the server for an ingredients list and check the seasonings you will use at home.

Pasta- Just like noodles the pasta alone will most likely contain gluten, and the seasonings and sauces the pasta is made with could also contain gluten. At a restaurant only order pasta if it is on the gluten-free list, and at home, you can get great pasta like Gluten-Free Fettuccine and great sauce like Nomato Gluten-Free Pasta Sauce.

Pastries- Most pastries are made to contain gluten. At a pastry shop check with a worker to check if they contain gluten, and if you are craving something for at home here are some great gluten-free pastries Gluten-Free Chocolate O’s Sandwich Cookies (Josef’s), Katz gluten-free Glazed Chocolate Donuts, and Raspberry Linzer Mini Gluten-Free Cookies.

Gluten-Free-Dessert-Collage-header.jpg
Head over here for many great gluten-free dessert recipes

Pie Crust- Pie crust is not gluten-free because it is prepared with or around flour, but gluten-free pies and pie crust can be found almost anywhere. Here is great gluten-free pie like Katz gluten-free Apple Pie and Gillian’s Gluten-Free Pumpkin Pie.

Pita- Pita is usually made with wheat flour and yeast so it is not gluten-free. Gluten-free pita can be easily made or bought in stores like Ancient Grain Gluten-Free Pita.

Potato Bread- Potato bread is usually just regular wheat bread with a portion of that made with potato, so it is not gluten-free.

Potato Chips- Most potato chips are not gluten-free, but are produced in a shared factory which does give them a high risk of cross-contamination. be careful when eating potato chips or buy them gluten-free like Plentils Margherita Pizza Gluten-Free Chips and Sweet Gluten-Free Potato Chips.

Pre-seasoned Meats- Pre-seasoned meats are a lot of the time not gluten-free because of the high chances of cross-contamination. Always check the ingredients list to make sure it is gluten-free.

Pretzels- Pretzels are prepared with flour so they are not gluten-free. Here you can buy great All Natural Gluten-Free Pretzel Sticks.

Ramen- Ramen is not gluten-free because of the high amounts of wheat and possibility of cross-contamination. Here you can buy great Chili Miso Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles, Edamame Miso Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles, Black Rice Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles, and Buckwheat Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles.

Ravioli- Ravioli is prepared with wheat so it is not gluten-free. Here is great Gluten-Free Cheese Ravioli and Butternut Squash Gluten-Free Ravioli.

Rice Noodles- Rice noodles are most of the time gluten-free, but sometimes cross-contaminated with sauces or seasonings. Ask the server and check the ingredients list.

Rolls- Rolls are not gluten-free because of the high use of flour, but you can buy gluten-free rolls in store or online like these Gluten-Free Dinner Rolls.

Rye- Rye is not gluten-free, and it is even closely related to wheat. A great substitute for rye is Sprouted Sorghum Flour.

Sauces & Gravies- Most sauces use flour as a thickener so it is best to stay away from them if you do not have a full ingredients list. Sauces and gravies can always be bought gluten-free online.

Sorrel- Sorrel is gluten-free, but sometimes cross-contaminated with other ingredients so check the ingredients list and ask your server.

Soy Sauce- Soy sauce is usually not gluten-free but gluten-free soy sauce can be bought easily at stores or online like this Wan Ja Shan Tamari Gluten-Free Soy Sauce.

what-to-see-when-going-gluten-free1

Starch- Starch is high in gluten and it is even found in wheat. Stay away from foods that contain this ingredient.

Stir-Fry Sauce- Stir-fry sauce is usually not gluten-free because wheat is often used to thicken the sauce, but here you can buy Mr. Spice Gluten-Free Stir Fry Sauce.

Stuffing- Stuffing is usually not gluten-free, but here you can buy Gluten-Free Stuffing.

Tortillas- Tortillas are usually gluten-free because they are made with cord, but they might be prepared with flour so check with the server.

Triticale- Triticale is very closely related to both wheat and rye, so it is not gluten-free.

Udon- Udon noodles are made from wheat flour so they do contain gluten. When eating Asian cuisine stay away from using udon.

Vitamins And Medication- It is best to ask your doctor or pharmacist if the medication or vitamin is gluten-free. Read more about gluten in medications here.

Waffles- Waffles are usually not made gluten-free, but here is a great waffle mix Gluten-Free Waffle Mix.

Wheat- Wheat is not gluten-free. It is actually the ingredient that makes foods not gluten-free. Stay away from wheat or anything that has wheat! great substitutes for wheat are Sprouted Millet Flour, Sprouted Sorghum Flour, Sprouted Brown Rice Flour, and the regular Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

bigstock-Gluten-Free-Stamp-29446007

Worcestershire Sauce- Worcestershire sauce is not gluten-free but here you can purchase gluten-free Wan Ja Shan Worcestershire Sauce.

Remember to always refer to the label of ingredients to check if it contains gluten, or ask your waiter/waitress about the food in question.  You can refer to Starting A Gluten-Free Diet for more tips and tricks about gluten.

Jump
Jump In Wellness

13 Comments

·

Leave a Reply

    • No problem! I am glad I could help you out. Also, a big problem for my sister was finding shampoos that were non gluten-free because if there is gluten in the shampoo you use it can get into your body through your pores. A great shampoo that I have used that is gluten-free is called Maui. It’s on amazon and in stores at target. There are links to it in my vegan post because it is also vegan. Find it here https://jumpinwellness.com/2017/03/19/starting-a-vegan-diet/ under the paragraph “Planning Ahead”.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s