Rainbow Power Greens Salad With Black Eyed Peas (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

This salad has a great taste, is super healthy, and pretty easy to make. The rainbow power greens salad with black eyed peas tastes so good because it incorporates a few main, awesome foods. The main ingredient is collard greens or cabbage. This will give you a ton of vitamin and iron, and pairing this with the dressing will taste great. Also, it has a healthy portion of black eyed peas. Black eyed peas have a ton of fiber, iron, and zinc – all great things to eat. I hope you try out this recipe, and tell me how you like it.

Rainbow Power Greens Salad With Black Eyed Peas (Vegan, Gluten-Free)

More At CotterCrunch

Ingredients (Yield- 2-3 Servings)

  • 2 cups cooked black eyed peas ( or you can cook a whole bag and use part of it for salad. See below for instructions)
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar (if cooking peas from scratch)
  • 2-3 cup chopped purple cabbage
  • 5 cups chopped collard greens and/or mustard greens/kale
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • 1/2 of a shallot chopped
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 to 1 1/2 cup shredded carrot
  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa (optional)
  • black pepper
  • oil/vinegar
  • lemon juice


  1. Rinse your chopped greens and and cabbage.
  2. In a medium pan, add 1 tbsp oil, shallot, garlic, and cabbage. Saute for 1-2 minutes on medium heat.
  3. Next add in your collard green, 1 more tbsp oil, and sea salt. Cover for 3 to 4 minutes on medium heat or until greens are wilted.
  4. Remove from heat and place all the ingredients from the pan into a large bowl.
  5. Add in your carrots, cooked quinoa, cooked black eyed peas, and a splash of lemon juice.
  6. Season with more salt/pepper if desired.
  7. Toss together and serve with oil/vinegar.

Again, let me know in the comments how you like this salad, if you have any suggestions for it. Thank you for stopping by, and have a great day!

Brought to you by Jump In Wellness — Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook @Jumpinwellness

Eating Vegan and Staying Healthy; The Problems You Might Face

It is a common know fact that meat and other animal byproducts are high in nutrition. When a person alters their diet to go vegan without taking the proper nutritious precautions it can have a serious effect on the persons health. Many ex-vegans say they experienced depression or foggy thinking without animal foods, leading them to stop the diet. This is all easily avoidable with small changes in what you eat.


Vitamin D is a great example on how people starting the vegan diet can plan ahead to help themselves later. Plants do not need vitamin D, so they do not produce it. This makes it very tough for a vegan to get the correct amount of this vitamin each day. One usual way people get the vitamin is the sun, but for people in the Northern Hemisphere this can be very tough for about half the month’s out of the year. There are only two other options for these people: vitamin supplements and mushrooms.

A great way to boost the vitamin D in you is to let mushrooms soak in the sun during sunny times of the year, and eating these mushrooms during the winter or rainy seasons. These mushrooms have a huge amount of vitamin D and just a few are needed for each day. Read more on this at Fungi.


Another problem for vegans are protein and iron deficiencies. Many non-vegans point out that animal products, especially their meat, have huge amounts of both so it is quite usual for vegans to struggle with getting the right amount of these necessary nutrients. While this is true sometimes, it is very easy to get enough protein on the vegan diet, just look at the gorilla, one of the strongest animals in the world. They are frugivores (only nuts, fruit and vegetables) and they obviously get more than enough protein. 

For these gorillas to keep getting enough protein they eat lots of legumes and nuts. Legumes can be a lot of things, but mostly they are lentils, beans, and tofu. Just one cup of lima beans can contain 25 percent of your daily needed iron, and 30 percent of your needed protein. One cup of lentils can contain up to 36 percent of your needed iron and 36 percent of your needed protein. Pumpkin sunflower and cashew seeds are also great snacks to keep your iron and protein high. 

All great lentils to keep your iron and protein high

Due to the lack of dairy in a vegans diet, it is also hard to get enough calcium. Most foods that provide a good amount of calcium are products of animals, so they are not vegan. My way to take in all the calcium I need is nut based intake. Almond milk, coconut yogurt, even soy nuts are great for calcium consumption, and they all taste wonderful. To retain most of the calcium that you put in your body you should stay away from salt, and also caffeine. Many people use spinach to intake calcium, but don’t eat too much because the calcium in spinach is bonded something called oxalic which will slow your how much your body can take in calcium. Kale is a much better source of calcium for vegans because your body can retain almost all of the provided calcium. 

And finally, if you are struggling to no end with the vegan diet you might be one of the people the vegan diet just does not work for. This can sometimes happen and if you are one of those people don’t feel ashamed or upset, your body and the chemicals that come with it might not allow for you to be a full on vegan. You could definitely try the vegetarian diet, and see if still eating eggs and a few other animal byproducts helps you out, but if you still get the same result there is still many things you can do to help the cause. Also, if people try to tell you that you can’t be an environmentalist and not be vegan they are completely wrong. Join the cause, volunteer, help out, and have some fun. 

If you are looking for a guide to start your vegan diet you can check out ours here: Starting a Vegan Diet



15 Must Have Vegan Apps

As technology gets more and more advanced being vegan will continue to be easier. A very smart thing to do with your smart phone is to personalize it towards your diet. The easiest way to do this is by downloading vegan-friendly apps. Here are 12 of our favorites you should download right now:

Click on the name of the app to head directly to download. Also, at the end of the blog is a list of great vegan recipe apps. Don’t miss it!

Is It Vegan? – Free

This app allows you to scan the product in question, and within seconds it tells you on a scale if it is vegan. If it is not vegan it tells you which ingredients are the culprits. 



Happy Cow – $3.99

No matter where you are this app will give you amazing suggestions of vegan and vegetarian places to eat. Also, it gives you details on the food served and a rating of the restaurant. 



Bunny Free – Free

This great app lets you search a companies name and they tell you whether or not they test on animals. Just be aware that this app only tells you if they test on animals or not, it does not tell you if the company uses non-vegan ingredients like honey, milk, or eggs. 



Veganagogo – $2.99

Veganagogo is a simple app that allows you to communicate your vegan dietary restrictions almost anywhere in the world. This app has translated different basic sentences that will help you with ordering a vegan meal in a different language. 



VeganXpress – $1.99

VeganXpress helps you find vegan menu items at chain restaurants. Find the chain and check what you can order.



Vegaholic – $1.99

Not all alcohol is vegan-friendly. Obviously a cocktail that uses egg whites, or milk stouts are not vegan, but you might not have realized that some beer, wine, and even vodka and be non-vegan. Just look up whatever drink is in question and this app will tell you if it is vegan or not. 



Cruelty Cutter – Free

Cruelty Cutter makes vegan shopping simple. It is quite like Bunny Free where you can scan the barcode of the product in question and this app will let you know if the company uses animal testing or not. 



PETA – Free

The PETA app gives you the chance to help animals through urgent action alerts, and donations. It is also a great addition because you can read all about what is going on in the animal world right at this moment. 



VegEMOJI – Free

VegEMOJI is a great app for sending vegetable emojis to anyone through text messages. It is super fun, and it promotes vegan and vegetarian diets. What could be better? 



If you are also looking for great vegan recipe apps you are in the right place. Here are just a few of my favorites:

Food Monster 

Oh She Glows

Forks Over Knives 

Do Eat Raw

21 Day Kickstart


Starting A Vegan Diet


Starting a vegan diet is a fun and enjoyable process, but first you should ask yourself a question – Why am I starting this diet? If it is because of the immense amount of health benefits that come with the diet, then it is okay to be more lenient. If you are starting the diet more because of the want to help animals, then the diet will be a little more strict. Just read the guide, check out the links we provide, and don’t get too scared because it really is a great process.

What is vegan?-

The vegan diet sprouted from the vegetarian diet. Although this diet has been around for thousands of years, the term vegetarian did not start until the mid-1800s. This diet varied quite a bit depending on who you asked about it. One side of the vegetarians thought the diet should only consist of foods from a plant origin like  vegetables, beans, fruits, nuts, grains, and more. The other side thought that dairy products and eggs should be vegetarian as well. Vegetarianism was a very tough subject for a few good decades, then a guy by the name of Donald Watson came along and thought of a new diet called vegan. He took the middle part of vegetarian out and left it with veg etari an. He also said that this new diet excluded honey, meat, fish, dairy products, and eggs.


Health vs. Ethics and Environment-

There are many upsides to going vegan for both your own health, and the environment. The vegan diet will severely decrease your chances of heart disease, obesity, and many kinds of cancer depending on how much you consume per day. For some it is easy to exceed and there are no signs that you have gone past your limit of consumption. Others can eat plenty of all these foods and be perfectly fine. There really are no warnings that you have gone past your limit, until it is too late.


Along with the good digestive system that comes with being vegan, you will also lose some weight and become leaner. A diet based on fruit, vegetables, and grains will definitely help get your summer body ready, but remember that if you are working out to continue to take in proteins or you will lose much of your energy. 

Now to the environmental side of things. Growing food directly for human use has become a large issue throughout the world. Even if you do not have an issue with the ethics side of farmed animal production, there is a huge case to be made for the environmental part. First, a huge amount of animal feed does not end up becoming a good cut of chicken breast, or a big glass of milk, but it does end up as manure. Factory farmed pigs and feedlot cattle are being feed at least five pounds of grain for every pound of meat that us humans will get back. Along with the large amount of manure, between blood, bones, and skin, about 30 percent of the animal that was killed is inedible. It is common environmental sense that a vegan diet needs less resources to feed the same amount of people. A study by Earthsave showed that it takes about 2500 gallons of water to produce one pound of beef burger. This same amount of water could grow more than 50 pounds of fruits and vegetables. 

Now that you see veganism is a two front war with both health and environment/ethics now let’s look at how to start your perfect vegan diet.

First Steps To Getting Rid of Meat-

All of this might look a little daunting to you, but really it’s not all too hard to start, especially if you live in an urban area. Going vegan is extremely fun because you get to explore new food options, and the rewards start coming in within the first few weeks. There are a few main things that you should do when starting the diet that will make it go a lot smoother. First, start a meal plan. Every Sunday plan out what you will be eating through the week, and make a list of ingredients you should buy. This will make it easier when you don’t have the time to stop at your local Whole Foods during the week, because the food will already be practically made in your fridge. Here is a great three week vegan meal plan


Eating Out and Cooking Vegan-

It takes roughly 21 times of doing anything to make it a habit, so the first 21 days are naturally the most important when starting the vegan diet.  The best way to make the diet a habit is to plan ahead and map out these important times. In a busy day of the week when you do not have time to cook up a vegan meal it is easy to simply look up “vegan restaurants near me” or “vegan stores” which will lead you right to great places to eat and explore. Also, here is a directory for vegan and vegetarian shopping near you. During the weekend when you have plenty of time to meal plan and to purchase food for the week it is always fun to visit the local farmer’s market where almost everything is vegan. Here are two great resources to use where looking for local farmer’s markets. Local Harvest and Local Food Directories. Also, there are many great vegan cookbooks out there, but here are just a few to try out; But I Could Never Go Vegan!, The Oh She Glows Cookbook: Over 100 Vegan Recipes, Forks Over Knives – Over 300 Recipes for Plant-Based Eating, and Veganomicon: The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook.

Planning Ahead- 

Once the habit of being vegan has started it is always a good idea to customize your home to fit this new diet. Many things can contain non-vegan materials ranging from shampoo to dish detergent. Most soaps contains almost all animal fat, the same with dish and laundry detergent, but it is easy to find vegetable substitutes that will go well with your vegan diet. For shampoo and conditioner I recommend using Maui Moisture. Here you can find shampoo Coconut Milk Shampoo, Vanilla Bean ShampooShea Butter Shampoo and for conditioner Coconut Milk Conditioner and Vanilla Bean Conditioner. For dish and laundry detergent I recommend Sun and Earth Cleaners. They only use natural ingredients, and they do not use animal products. Here is Natural Laundry Detergent, Dishwashing Liquid, and Natural All- Purpose Cleaner.

Staying Motivated- 

Staying motivated is the best part about the vegan diet because it means that you have made it through the toughest part. It is sometimes hard to eat healthy and continue forward, but there are a few things you can do to help yourself out. First, join clubs and get out there. After joining a club you will begin hear other people’s stories and it will keep you wanting to move forward. You can search for vegan meet ups on Meetup.com, and join social media clubs on Facebook. These people will provide support and help you all the way through the process of starting the diet, and keeping one. Another great thing to do is to read vegan oriented books. This will keep you interested in being vegan because you will always be learning so much more about it. You can also go to Mercy For Animals to directly help with the cause. 

Being Happy With Progress-

As more and more effort has been given to being vegan it is always smart to stop and look at where you came from. Stopping and surveying how well you’ve done will not only provide encouragement, but also help you decide what to do next in the vegan community. One of the best ways to be happy with progress is to ask yourself questions. Ask things like “What fruits and vegetables did I recently eat that I had never enjoyed before?” or “What vegan-friendly restaurants have I dined at that I didn’t know about in the past?” Both of these put what you have accomplished into perspective, and really show how well you’ve done. You have completely change your way of life and you should be extremely proud. 

Chilaquiles with Pepitas, Charred Corn, and Black Beans

Continue On and Have Fun-

Being vegan is all about having fun with it. If it becomes a daily grind and struggle then slow down and become a little less rigid with the diet. It is okay to sometimes not be 100 percent vegan. Actually nobody is ever 100 percent vegan, there are so many non-vegan products out there it is near impossible to stop using everything. Bottom line, meet new people, try new foods, and help new people start this awesome diet.  

If you loved this blog share it on Twitter and Facebook and follow us at @Jumpinwellness. This blog was created by the amazing team at Jump In Wellness.

94 Foods You Wouldn’t Expect To Contain Gluten

Welcome to The Big List of Foods That You Wouldn’t Expect To Contain Gluten. This list will always be expanding and upgrading, so if you have a suggestion for a food just comment and it will be added shortly. Click on the hot links to buy the gluten-free version or recipe listed.

Amaranth- Amaranth usually does not contain gluten but has a small chance of cross-contamination. Here you can buy specifically made gluten-free Amaranth Flour.

Asparagus- Asparagus is naturally gluten-free but sometimes seasoned or topped with a substance that contains gluten.

Bagels- Bagels are made with wheat causing a high gluten content. Here you can buy gluten-free bagels ODoughs Original Gluten-Free Bagel.

Baked Goods- Most baked goods are made with wheat or flour as a key ingredient so it does contain gluten. Here you can buy gluten-free recipes Gluten-Free Dessert Recipes.

Barley- Barley contains gluten anyway it was grown or prepared.

Beer- Beer is made with barely so it has a high amount of gluten. There are gluten-free substitutes for beer, like Angry Orchard which is a hard cider. Remember you must be 21 years or older.


Biscuits- A common ingredient in biscuits is flour, so they are not gluten-free. However here you can buy gluten-free biscuits Gluten-Free Oat Biscuits.

Breading- Breading is commonly made with wheat, so it is not gluten-free. A good substitute to bread crumbs is gluten-free Oats, Flax, or these Gluten-Free Bread Crumbs.

Bread- Bread is made with wheat and flour so it is high in gluten. Here is where you can buy gluten-free bread Whole Grain Style and White Style.

Brewer’s Yeast- Brewer’s Yeast which is a byproduct of beer is not considered gluten-free in any way.

Brownies- The main ingredient in most brownies is flour, making it very high in gluten. Here you can buy gluten-free Brownie Mix.

Brown Rice- Brown Rice is naturally gluten-free, but it might contain gluten because of the way it was made. Make sure to ask your server, or read the ingredients list.

Brown Rice Syrup- Brown Rice Syrup usually does not contain gluten but possibly made with malt syrup or starch which then adds gluten.

Buckwheat- Buckwheat is in no way related to regular wheat so it is gluten-free, but there is a chance for cross-contamination. Here you can buy gluten-free Buckwheat Flour.

Butter- Plain butter is gluten-free, but some kinds of butter do contain gluten because of the added ingredients. Several brands like Land of Lakes, Smart Balance, and Earth Balance are all gluten-free.

Cakes- A large ingredient in most cakes is flour so it is not gluten-free. Cakes can be made gluten-free by following a gluten-free cake recipe like Let Us All Eat Cake.

Caramel- Caramel flavor is derived from wheat so it is not gluten-free. Here you can buy gluten-free Caramel.

Carrots- Carrots are naturally gluten-free, but the way they are made might add gluten. Make sure you ask the server and check the label.

Cereal- Many cereal grains are not gluten-free. It is best to always check the label for wheat or cereal grains. Most Chex cereal is gluten-free, and here are some gluten-free super cereals, Blueberry Cashew,  Cacao Coconut, and Sweet Buckwheat.

Cheese- Most cheese is gluten-free, but Blue cheese and Brie are both aged in areas that could cause cross-contamination. Always ask the server or check the label.

Chocolate- Chocolate alone is gluten-free, but there is always a chance for cross-contamination, especially when nuts or pretzels are added. Here you can buy gluten-free chocolate with no chance of cross-contamination Hempmilk Chocolate Bar.

Chow Mein- Chow mein is not gluten-free because of it is a wheat noodle, so it is actually very high in gluten. A great substitute is chow fun, the other type of Chinese noodle because it is a rice noodle, not a wheat noodle.

Cookies- The first thing you add to cookies is flour, so it is not gluten-free, but there are many great gluten-free cookie recipes and mixes. Here are gluten-free premade cookies Double Chocolate Cookies and here are gluten-free cookie recipes.

Corn- Corn naturally does not contain gluten, but there are certain ways it can be made which will add gluten. Always ask the server and check ingredients lists.

Cornbread- A large ingredient in corn is corn flour, and regular flour, so it is not gluten-free.

Corn Flakes- Corn Flakes are sometimes gluten-free and sometimes very high in gluten depending on which brand you buy. A safe option to go with is General Mills Corn Chex.


Couscous- All brands that make couscous use high amounts of wheat, so it is not gluten-free.

Crackers- Crackers are not gluten-free, but there are many alternatives with gluten-free crackers. Here are just a few  Zesty Tomato Flax Gluten-Free Crackers, Rosemary & Onion Gluten-Free Crackers.

Cream- Most dairy products are gluten-free. Unflavored, heavy cream is gluten-free, but added flavors might also add gluten. Check the labels and be aware while at restaurants.

Crepes- Crepes are not gluten-free because of the high amounts of flour. Here is gluten-free pancake mix which can also make be used to make crepes Gluten-Free Buckwheat Pancakes Mix.

Croissants- The main ingredient in croissants is flour, so stay away from the at restaurants.

Croutons- Croutons are not gluten-free because they are made primarily with flour. Here you can buy gluten-free croutons Garlic Gluten-Free Croutons.

Dextrin- Dextrin is usually gluten-free, but sometimes it is made with wheat flour causing it to be high in gluten. Check the label to see for sure.

Dextrose- Dextrose is sometimes made from wheat, but it is usually concentrated enough to make it gluten-free. Most times you are okay but always check the label.

Donuts- Donuts are not gluten-free. A very large ingredient is wheat so sadly you can not enjoy donuts. Sometimes in stores, there are gluten-free variants that you can eat but remember to be careful of cross-contamination. Here you can buy gluten-free Glazed Donuts.

Dressing- Most times dressing is gluten-free, but in some cases, especially with house made dressings in restaurants there is a large possibility of cross-contamination. Ask your server and check the label. Here you can buy gluten-free Chipotle Ranch Dressing and Ginger Miso Dressing.

Dumplings- Dumplings are extremely high in gluten, their whole outer shell is a very floury dough, so they are not gluten-free. There are many great gluten-free options, here are just a few; Chicken Gluten-Free Dumplings, Pork Gluten-Free Dumplings, and Vegetable Gluten-Free Dumplings.

Durum- Durum being a different strain of wheat, but closely related, is also high in gluten. There are many substitutes for wheat, one being this Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

Egg Noodles- Egg noodles are made with high amounts of wheat so, unfortunately, they are not gluten-free. There are limited choices to buy gluten-free egg noodles, but you can always make them at home.

Eggs From Restaurants- Eggs from restaurants is a tough one. There is a large possibility of cross-contamination in most restaurants so you must always check with your server who will then ask the chef if there is a designated egg area. If there is you should be good.

Energy Bars- Energy bars are mostly 50/50. It all depends on the bar you eat. Bars that are high in protein are usually more prone to gluten, or cross-contamination because of the additives. Also about cross-contamination, energy bars with oats usually do contain gluten because of cross-contamination. Always read the ingredients list and check for wheat.

Farro- Farro is a mix of different types of ancient wheat, so it is definitely not gluten-free. A great substitute is this Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

Flatbreads- Normal flatbreads, and especially flatbreads from restaurants are very high in gluten. There are many great flatbreads, here are just a few; Gluten-free Italian Flat Bread Mix, Gluten-Free Flatbread Pita, and Multigrain Gluten-Free Flatbread.

Flour- Flour is mainly wheat so it is not gluten-free. There are many great substitutes for flour but here are just a few; Sprouted Millet Flour, Sprouted Sorghum Flour, Sprouted Brown Rice Flour, and the regular Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.


Flour Tortillas- The main ingredient in flour tortillas is flour, so naturally they are not gluten-free. A lot of times corn tortillas are used in the place of flour tortillas to make the meal gluten-free, so here are some Gluten-Free Corn Tortillas.

French Fries- French fries are usually gluten-free, but they are also usually cross-contaminated. At a restaurant ask if they are gluten-free or not, and at the store read the ingredients list.

French Toast- French toast is most times sadly not gluten-free. There are great gluten-free french toast recipes and this gluten-free French Toast Mix.

Gnocchi- The main ingredient in gnocchi is potatoes, but flour is often used as a binder so gnocchi is not gluten-free. Here you can buy Cappello’s Gluten-free Gnocchi.

Goldfish- Goldfish is not gluten-free. Flour is commonly used as an ingredient so it is very high in gluten.

Graham Crackers- Most graham crackers contain refined wheat making them not gluten-free. Here are some great Gluten-Free Graham Crackers.

Granola- Granola alone is gluten-free in most cases, but most times is cross-contaminated with gluten. Here you can buy Gluten-free Granola.

Granola Bars- Although granola alone might be gluten-free granola bars are usually mixed with oats which will make them have an almost 100% chance of cross-contamination. Stay away from granola bars that are not sold gluten-free.

Imitation Bacon- Imitation bacon is not gluten-free because they are usually paired with flour or other forms of gluten. IT is good to stay away from imitation bacon unless bought from a specific gluten-free supplier like this one.

Imitation Seafood- Imitation seafood, a lot like imitation bacon, is not gluten-free because they are usually paired with flour or other forms of gluten. Again, stay away from imitation seafood unless bought from a specific gluten-free supplier like this one.

Khorasan Wheat- Khorasan wheat is not gluten-free. Actually, it is one of the furthest things from it. Stay away from this type of wheat, and basically every other food where “wheat” is in the name. Like mentioned above, there are many great substitutes for wheat like Sprouted Millet Flour, Sprouted Sorghum Flour, Sprouted Brown Rice Flour, and the regular Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.

Lipstick/Lipgloss/Lipbalm- Lipstick/Lipgloss/Lip Balm usually contains gluten because of some of the chemicals that are used in them. Since this can be accidentally ingested they made the list.

Great gluten-free lipstick

Malt- In most cases, malt is made from barley so it is not gluten-free. It can be made from corn, but this happens very rarely. Stay away from malts, unless they are specifically gluten-free.

Malted Barley Flour- Malted barley flour is always made from barley, and flour. This means it is definitely not gluten-free. Stay away from anything that has malted barley flour in it, and always read the labels on foods that could contain this.

Malted Milk- Malted milk is made primarily with barley so it is not gluten-free. Here you can malted milk powder.

Malt Extract/Flavoring/Syrup/Vinegar- Each of these products are made with barley which does mean that these all contain gluten.

Marinades- Depending on what ingredients the marinade contains will decide if the food is gluten-free. Check the labels on the ingredients or ask the server if you are at a restaurant. Great substitutes for common non-gluten-free marinades are Appalachian Naturals Cilantro Lime Vinaigrette, Mr. Spice Honey Barbeque Sauce BBQ, and Mr. Spice Sweet & Sour Gluten-Free Sauce.

Milkshakes- The basic ingredients of milkshakes, like milk and ice, are gluten-free, but if it is a malted milkshake or a milkshake that had ingredient other than just milk or ice cream most likely it is not gluten-free. Always check the ingredient list and ask the server.

Muffins- Muffins are usually made with flour so they are not gluten-free. There are many great gluten-free muffins like  Gluten-Free Lemon Streusel Muffins and 1-2-3 Gluten-Free Muffin Mix.

Mung Bean Noodles- Mung bean noodles are made with rice so they are gluten-free. Always wake sure to watch out for cross-contamination.

Mustard- Mustard varies on whether or not it is gluten-free. Some mustard can be gluten-free, it can also have a high chance of cross-contamination, and it could also be made primarily from wheat.

Noodles- The majority of noodles are not gluten-free. Most are made with wheat or ingredients like wheat. There are many great gluten-free noodles like Gluten-Free Fettuccine, Gluten-Free Pasta Shells, and Gluten-Free Le Veneziane.

Pancakes- Pancakes are not made gluten-free because of the wheat used in the batter. You can always buy great gluten-free pancake mix like Authentic Foods Gluten-Free Pancake  Mix.

Parsnips- Parsnips are gluten-free, but are not always prepared in a way that keeps them gluten-free. Make sure to ask the server for an ingredients list and check the seasonings you will use at home.

Pasta- Just like noodles the pasta alone will most likely contain gluten, and the seasonings and sauces the pasta is made with could also contain gluten. At a restaurant only order pasta if it is on the gluten-free list, and at home, you can get great pasta like Gluten-Free Fettuccine and great sauce like Nomato Gluten-Free Pasta Sauce.

Pastries- Most pastries are made to contain gluten. At a pastry shop check with a worker to check if they contain gluten, and if you are craving something for at home here are some great gluten-free pastries Gluten-Free Chocolate O’s Sandwich Cookies (Josef’s), Katz gluten-free Glazed Chocolate Donuts, and Raspberry Linzer Mini Gluten-Free Cookies.

Head over here for many great gluten-free dessert recipes

Pie Crust- Pie crust is not gluten-free because it is prepared with or around flour, but gluten-free pies and pie crust can be found almost anywhere. Here is great gluten-free pie like Katz gluten-free Apple Pie and Gillian’s Gluten-Free Pumpkin Pie.

Pita- Pita is usually made with wheat flour and yeast so it is not gluten-free. Gluten-free pita can be easily made or bought in stores like Ancient Grain Gluten-Free Pita.

Potato Bread- Potato bread is usually just regular wheat bread with a portion of that made with potato, so it is not gluten-free.

Potato Chips- Most potato chips are not gluten-free, but are produced in a shared factory which does give them a high risk of cross-contamination. be careful when eating potato chips or buy them gluten-free like Plentils Margherita Pizza Gluten-Free Chips and Sweet Gluten-Free Potato Chips.

Pre-seasoned Meats- Pre-seasoned meats are a lot of the time not gluten-free because of the high chances of cross-contamination. Always check the ingredients list to make sure it is gluten-free.

Pretzels- Pretzels are prepared with flour so they are not gluten-free. Here you can buy great All Natural Gluten-Free Pretzel Sticks.

Ramen- Ramen is not gluten-free because of the high amounts of wheat and possibility of cross-contamination. Here you can buy great Chili Miso Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles, Edamame Miso Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles, Black Rice Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles, and Buckwheat Gluten-Free Ramen Noodles.

Ravioli- Ravioli is prepared with wheat so it is not gluten-free. Here is great Gluten-Free Cheese Ravioli and Butternut Squash Gluten-Free Ravioli.

Rice Noodles- Rice noodles are most of the time gluten-free, but sometimes cross-contaminated with sauces or seasonings. Ask the server and check the ingredients list.

Rolls- Rolls are not gluten-free because of the high use of flour, but you can buy gluten-free rolls in store or online like these Gluten-Free Dinner Rolls.

Rye- Rye is not gluten-free, and it is even closely related to wheat. A great substitute for rye is Sprouted Sorghum Flour.

Sauces & Gravies- Most sauces use flour as a thickener so it is best to stay away from them if you do not have a full ingredients list. Sauces and gravies can always be bought gluten-free online.

Sorrel- Sorrel is gluten-free, but sometimes cross-contaminated with other ingredients so check the ingredients list and ask your server.

Soy Sauce- Soy sauce is usually not gluten-free but gluten-free soy sauce can be bought easily at stores or online like this Wan Ja Shan Tamari Gluten-Free Soy Sauce.


Starch- Starch is high in gluten and it is even found in wheat. Stay away from foods that contain this ingredient.

Stir-Fry Sauce- Stir-fry sauce is usually not gluten-free because wheat is often used to thicken the sauce, but here you can buy Mr. Spice Gluten-Free Stir Fry Sauce.

Stuffing- Stuffing is usually not gluten-free, but here you can buy Gluten-Free Stuffing.

Tortillas- Tortillas are usually gluten-free because they are made with cord, but they might be prepared with flour so check with the server.

Triticale- Triticale is very closely related to both wheat and rye, so it is not gluten-free.

Udon- Udon noodles are made from wheat flour so they do contain gluten. When eating Asian cuisine stay away from using udon.

Vitamins And Medication- It is best to ask your doctor or pharmacist if the medication or vitamin is gluten-free. Read more about gluten in medications here.

Waffles- Waffles are usually not made gluten-free, but here is a great waffle mix Gluten-Free Waffle Mix.

Wheat- Wheat is not gluten-free. It is actually the ingredient that makes foods not gluten-free. Stay away from wheat or anything that has wheat! great substitutes for wheat are Sprouted Millet Flour, Sprouted Sorghum Flour, Sprouted Brown Rice Flour, and the regular Multi-Blend Gluten-Free Flour Mix.


Worcestershire Sauce- Worcestershire sauce is not gluten-free but here you can purchase gluten-free Wan Ja Shan Worcestershire Sauce.

Remember to always refer to the label of ingredients to check if it contains gluten, or ask your waiter/waitress about the food in question.  You can refer to Starting A Gluten-Free Diet for more tips and tricks about gluten.

Jump In Wellness

Starting a Gluten-Free Diet

With a little work, some planning, and tons of great recipes, you will never have to worry about gluten again.

What Is Gluten?

Gluten is a substance that is found in most cereal grains, especially wheat. Gluten is responsible for the elastic texture of the dough. It is a subject that tons of people are talking about, and it’s only going to go up. Less than one percent of Americans actually have gluten intolerance, also known as celiac disease, but according to a 2015 Gallup Poll found that one in five Americans tries to avoid foods with gluten in them, and around one in six Americans are on a totally gluten-free diet.


There is a prejudiced mindset associated with gluten that right when you start the diet the weight will fly off, but there are many mistakes that could be made that will actually make you less healthy. This guide to starting a gluten-free diet will help you avoid those mistakes, and you will also get many helpful resources and recipes along the way.

Why Gluten?

Now that you know what gluten is, you might be wondering why you should specifically cut this out of your diet. A gluten-free diet is actually very similar to a regular healthy diet. There are already many naturally gluten-free foods so you won’t have to worry about not eating fruits, vegetables, fish, lean meat, and even beans. This is what dietitians recommend makes up the majority of your diet whether you’re gluten-free or not.


If you like grains, you can still eat them too. Lots of people think that gluten-free means no grains at all, but there are still many great gluten-free options out there. Rice, millet, quinoa and buckwheat are just a few examples. If you would like to purchase these grains just click on them and you will be directed to a site to buy them. So why should you cut gluten from your diet? First, gluten is the main cause of allergic reactions for people with celiac disease. If you do have this disease it is best if you cut gluten from your diet immediately. Also, gluten is very high in carbohydrates so cutting gluten will give you a very low carb diet, but not a no carb diet.

How Can I Go Gluten-Free?

Going gluten-free is not easy without planning it out. The number one mistake people make when going gluten-free is assuming everything that says “gluten-free” is healthy. It isn’t. The gluten-free muffins or brownies or cereals or pizza are often made with refined grains and are heavy in sugar and often contain more calories than the original full-gluten counterparts. You may start to gain weight if this is the main change you make to your diet. These foods should stay, just like they are now; occasional. It’s just like with any diet. Even if a sweet is gluten-free, it is still unhealthy.

How To Avoid Gluten, At Home

Companies can use gluten in many ways, and they don’t have to list it on the allergy label like they do for eggs and dairy. In stores, and especially restaurants, you are going to have to search a little when picking out foods to make sure there is no gluten in the food that just wasn’t listed. A simple fix to this is to just flip the box over and read the ingredients list. According to the Celiac Disease Foundation, this is what you’re looking for: wheat, barley, rye, malt, brewer’s yeast and oats. Oats are gluten-free, but many times they have been cross-contaminated with gluten, so it is best to stay away from them unless it specifically says on the box “gluten-free”. Here you can buy gluten-free oats. Another huge aspect of staying away from gluten is its presence in restaurants. We will talk all about the tips and tricks on this shortly.

You might be surprised that some of your other favorite foods are also not gluten-free. Many seasonings contain gluten so stay away from flavored nuts or chips, unless you purchase them gluten-free, energy bars because most contain non-gluten oats, creamy soups, salad dressings, candy, and especially soy sauce. If you’re vegetarian, you might eat a lot of fake meats (veggie bacon), but know that these are often made with seitan, which is wheat gluten.

“Are french fries gluten-free?”-How To Avoid Gluten In Restaurants

You now know how to purchase foods the “non-gluten” way, but how can you do this at restaurants? First, understand that asking questions is good. The restaurant HAS to answer your questions regarding allergies, and they actually want to. They would rather answer your question about the gluten content in their french fries than deal with the bad review and even legal questions they might receive after not properly informing you on how they can accommodate your dietary restrictions.

Asking for a gluten-free menu when you are about to be seated is always a great start, but they might not always be completely reliable. A lot of times it lists the food that would be gluten-free if you were to make the food on a clean surface, but that is not always the case. This is where cross contamination comes into play. A great example of what cross-contamination is are french fries.

“Are your french fries gluten-free?”, many times this is both yes and no. French fries are normally made gluten-free, but where they are fried does not usually have the same track record. Most fryers for restaurants are also used to fry things like chicken and fish, and wheat is a key ingredient during this process. Don’t be afraid to ask your waiter or waitress to ask the chef specifically about a certain food. House made items like dressing and sauces are sometimes looked over on the gluten side, but usually have a high content of gluten. You might need to ask the chef specifically if that food, or any others, contain gluten. A small side note is most cheese is gluten-free, but cheese that has been aged for a long time like blue cheese and brie could both contain gluten because of the environment they were aged in.

Plan Ahead

The best thing you can do to make your gluten-free diet, or lifestyle, is to plan ahead. Being gluten-free might not always be easy, but there are thousands of great recipes that will allow you to eat great meals that taste amazing. Check out “1,000 Gluten-Free Recipes (1,000 Recipes)” this will give you a great start to enjoying your new, healthy diet. Last, don’t be afraid to ask others for help. You can always leave a comment on the blog and a response will come quick, or you can check out our list of Foods You Wouldn’t Expect To Contain Gluten  for more answers on common questions. Get out there, have fun, and enjoy the life of no gluten.

Written By the amazing team of writers at Jump In Wellness